Summer Reading: 48 Hour Book Challenge 2015

cup of coffee and booksSunday Evening, 9:30 p.m.:  Spent the afternoon reading, then went out to dinner with a friend before we headed to Starbucks for coffee, comfortable chairs and more reading.  I haven’t done as much online connecting as I usually do, but the in person kind has been kind of awesome.  I caught some more of my audio book, Paper Valentine.  I started and finished Ash and Bramble by Sarah Prineas.  To say this is a retelling of the Cinderella story is not untrue, but I think it really sells this book short.  This is a story about stories, and choices and endings and power and beginnings and in places the writing just sings.  I makes me long for a sequel. And the very end leaves a little hope.  Or perhaps the reader is supposed to construct her or his own sequel. Cups of coffee drunk: 6 Time spent reading: 19 hours, 20 minutes. Pages read: 1251.

Sunday Afternoon, 12:15 p.m.:  Well, my plans to stay up last night didn’t materialize, I was in bed by 10:30 p.m.  I did manage to accomplish a walk and made progress on my audio book.  But up at 5:30 a.m. this morning and back at it.  Just finished Truth Be Told by Hank Phillipi Ryan.  I was first introduced to Ryan when I read The Wrong Girl for 48hbc a few years back.  I loved the give and take between Jake and Jane then, the way the story was framed and also the complexity of the plot.  Well, Ryan has only gotten stronger on all counts.  I can see why this book was named best of the year by several outlets and won an Agatha.  I just wish she could somehow write faster!  Cups of coffee drunk: 5 Time spent reading: 13 hours, 40 minutes. Pages read: 942.

Saturday Evening, 8:00 p.m.: Read for a while, then took a nap.  (I know, cutting into time I could be reading but MAYBE it will help me stay awake tonight.)  I read a while long, then took a break to talk to my husband about his day and mine.  Read longer still, while heating up and eating dinner (salad and leftover mac and cheese).  The end result is that I finished my second book, Never, Always, Sometimes by Adi Alsaid.  I loved Let’s Get Lost, his debut from last year.  But this, this is a special book, full of humor and teenage pranks and yearning and love and bittersweet and recognizing that sometimes what you want is hurting someone you love.  Although there is a part of me that would love to talk about whether or not the way that part of it happens is realistic.  The romantic in me wants to say yes but the realist is like NO WAY.  (Sorry so cryptic, trying not to spoil the book.)  Cups of coffee drunk: 2 Time spent reading: 6 hours, 40 minutes. Pages read: 561.

Saturday Afternoon, 1:40 p.m.:  So coffee was had with a true friend, but the books were forgotten in lieu of what I think was instead excellent thoughtful conversation.  As I was walking up to my apartment just now, I was trying to decide if or when as adults we realize that sometimes the best thing to do with plans is throw them away.  I also stopped by the apartment clubhouse where a pool party is going on, ate a hot dog and then excused myself to go on with my day.  Of course my day is…the reading challenge.  I did get in some listening on my audio book.  My biggest surprise so far is that the tone of the story does not match the cover illustration.  Cups of coffee drunk: 2   Time spent reading: 3 hours, 15 minutes. Pages read: 253.

Saturday Morning, 10:00 a.m.:  Just finished my first book, Celeste Conway’s Unlovely (the second book by Conway I have read, the first being The Melting Season.)  Like The Melting Season, Unlovely features a beautiful young girl obsessed with ballet. (I love books about ballet and ballet dancers!)  However, in Unlovely, the story is told from the point of view of a young man returning to his small town after his freshman year away at college.  His childhood sweetheart has not only dumped him, she has taken up with a sleazy drunk and, oh yeah, is also pregnant.  So when Harley sees the summer ballet girls in town, he is drawn to the new girl, with her more than platinum hair, her ethereal beauty.   It seems like fate brought them together, and when Cassandra wins the lead role in Giselle, the ballet that will be performed at the end of the summer, Harley is happy for her.  He just has to try and ignore all the talk of tragedy that surrounds the ballet school, and the weird creepy things that keep happening there.  Not sure what is up next, getting ready to drive to meet a friend for books and coffee.  I will listen to my chosen audio book, Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff on the way.  Cups of coffee drunk: 1  Time spent reading: 2 hours, 25 minutes.  Pages read: 253.

Saturday Morning, 7:00 a.m.: It is time for what might be my favorite weekend of the whole year, time for the 48 Hour Book Challenge. I got my cleaning and most of my errands done last night, so cleared to read (as long as I can stay awake anyway!) What makes this weekend so special for me is the joy I get from indulging in reading every possible moment.  I think it reminds me of summers when I was a kid, when I really did read almost all the time. My goals again this year are to have fun, read a variety of books, and try to network more. This year I am trying something new, I am networking with a couple of friends who I convinced to read with me.  It remains to be seen how much reading we get done!   This is also a trial of trying to see if I want to restart my blog.  I do have lots of books all over as well as a ton of e-galleys on my tablet, and this year can listen to my chosen audio book through the bluetooth in my car. If you want to participate, it isn’t too late to get in on the action. More information here. The twitter hash tag for the challenge is #48hbc, if anyone else wants to follow along.  This is the tenth anniversary of the challenge, and my fifth year to join in. Image courtesy of Apolonia at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

6 thoughts on “Summer Reading: 48 Hour Book Challenge 2015

    • It reminded me of Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black, but I think I liked it just a little bit more, as it left quite a bit to the reader to fill in between the gaps. I should think about reviews, as it is my hope to maybe revive my blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

